top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

A Strange Journey and What Did I Learn

Updated: Feb 5, 2021




Have you ever been working on a project and then you hit the final milestone or you’re so close that it is undeniable that you will make it?

I am there now. I spend part of every day focused on the tasks ahead of me and the other part of the day I want to either throw up or run around the house screaming.



If you don’t know my novel Into the Fire, Book One of The Fire Series is available on Amazon for preorder. I am working on getting the paperback and other eBook sites ready. IngramSparks is a learning experience.



How did I get here?

I finished the last revision of the book at the end of January and started the formatting. My budget is small for this novel because I also had to do all the fees connected with opening my publishing company Black Bird Books Publishers. So I had to format the novel myself. I used KDP first and it was so shocking to preview the novel in tablet and eReader view.

I also did my research and knew that I wanted to publish on more sites than just Amazon so I picked IngramSparks which if you wrote for NaNoWriMo you get a discount with them. Thank goodness for that.


Some of you might know that I wrote this novel as part of a bucket list item. I wanted to write a story and take the book to my Grandmother who I share a first name with and show her what she inspired in her granddaughter. I bought the plane tickets to visit her in California in March. This has added a side trip to jobs on my plate as I plan ahead to take extra precautions to keep my Grandmother and myself safe.


I made my goals small for my debut novel. Goals like;

1 download

5 downloads

10 downloads

20 downloads

100 downloads in my head this is more than I could hope for.

I am happy to report I have reached the first goal with 3 preorders as of this morning. I can’t wait to share this novel and series with you all. I would write more but I need to get back to work on all the little tasks in publishing a book and running a publishing company.


If you would like to chat with me I run an Author Chat every Wednesday at 5pm CST


What am I reading?

eBook Rescuing Emily by Susan Stoker (Delta Force Heroes #2)

Audiobook Rebel Heir by Vi Keeland (Rush Duet #1)


I’ve read 28 books out of my 60 book goal for 2021







1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page