top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Celebrating the Journey: Writing My First Novel 4 Years Later


Four years ago, I wrote my first novel and started my publishing company, Black Bird Books Publishers. At first, I needed to tell this story to cope with my depression and move past survival mode. But it turned into an amazing journey of a hero, with obstacles, victories, and lessons. Today I want to talk about the start of this story I'm living with you, like an author has the want to.



The Departure

My ordinary world was filled with reading most days and watching reruns of Leverage, mostly filled with worry for Jenn and surviving. I remember a lot of numb days. We had lost 2 members of our family and their income, and to put the cherry on the cake, we lost our place and had to scramble to find a roommate and a place to live.

Watching Chrisitan Kane as Eliot Spenser gave me some great inspiration and slowly the call to adventure came as Travis Short.

Raven, a chef seeking a fresh start, and Travis, a famous actor disillusioned by romance, became my companions through late nights and early mornings. Their story unfolded in the high-pressure world of Seattle's culinary scene and the glitz of Hollywood, merging my love for romance and suspense.

As soon as I drafted Into the Fire, I knew deep in my chest that it was the start of a series.


The Initiation

Challenges: Overcoming Doubts and Obstacles

Oh, I hit these challenges hard and had to pull myself out of a second depression. First, I set an unrealistic deadline for publication right after drafting the novel. At the time, I did not know how difficult the next stages were going to be for me,

Some of you know that I'm a dyslexic author, which brings its own challenges to what would test any new author. I admit I didn't know at the time the stages of revisions and edits a book need before you can get to formatting.

When I hit this wall, one way I got myself out was to draft book 2 The Fire Inside, which its 2nd edition and new cover will be released this month. This break gave my brain the chance to come up with a solution to my editing problem.


The Return

Triumphs: moments of joy and success.

With this technique I've been able to revise all my novels to success. Next came the perfect image for the cover and most important of all the capital.

I'm sure you all remember the checks that came in 2020. I used my money to create my Publishing company and get promotion material for publishing Into the Fire.


Lessons Learned: Growth and Reflection

Writing my first novel taught me numerous lessons, both as a writer and an individual. I learned the importance of patience and persistence, realizing that every step, no matter how small, brings you closer to your goal. I discovered the value of the community, finding support and encouragement from fellow writers and readers. Most importantly, I learned to trust my voice and embrace my unique storytelling style.


Some tools and people who helped me on the way:

Hello Future Me Youtube channel On Writing

Travis Short, Home, and concert play list

A Call to Action: Dive Into the Fire Series

As I celebrate this milestone, I invite you to embark on this journey with me. The 2nd edition of Into the Fire is now available, featuring a stunning new cover. If you haven't experienced Raven and Travis' story yet, now is the perfect time to do so. And if you have, I encourage you to explore the rest of The Fire Series, where new characters and thrilling tales await.



Small Embers a Prequel

Box Set





Author of the month is our Devon Gambrell check out her Ream stories and follow.



I'm currently revising, editing, and formatting Small Embers, your next free story. Keep an eye out for updates.


While writing this blog


Most days






Anime







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page