top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Character Interview


Character Interview- Steve Martin from If the Seas Catch Fire book 3 of The Fire Series



Steve Martin, a once freelance journalist and co-owner/guitarist for the country rock band Home and now an exposed novelist, thank you for meeting with us today here in New York, NY. How Do You Feel About This Interview?

Well, this is my 17th interview for this book so far. I hope that the famed New Yorker will ask some interesting questions.






What did you do before this interview?

Breakfast, coffee, and called my girlfriend.

Girlfriend, who is the lucky lady, if you don’t mind sharing?

Okay, how did you sleep last night?

Not well to tell you the truth.

What Did You Have For Breakfast?

I headed out to a famous deli here and got a bagel and locks.

What do you think about New York? Is it your first time here?

This isn’t my first time here and I don’t mind visiting, but it isn’t somewhere I would like to call home.

What Are Your Plans for The Rest of the Day?

Get some things for friends and maybe catch a show.

Is This Considered a Normal Day For You?

Nope.

How Did You Get To This Interview?

Flew in from Boston yesterday.

Is Anyone In the Waiting Room for you?

Nope, I’m alone. My girlfriend is handling a huge project back in Seat My family live on the West coast so this has been a lonely book tour.


Anything Specific You Want to Me to Ask You?

Not really.

Can You Describe Yourself in One Sentence?

The funny man, though my friend and co-worker Malcolm might disagree.

Speaking of co-worker. You’re more than a free-lance journalist, aren’t you?

Yes, I work for Bastion Securities, LLC in Seattle, Washington.

How Would Others Describe You?

Depends on who you ask.

I’d say you’re a muscular, funny man with dark brown hair and a smirk.


Your book is about a white slavery BDSM ring in the United States and its ties overseas. Your investigation prompted a joint raid by U.S. and Canadian joint task forces a few months ago. How did that make you feel?

Good, we made some great headway in cutting down a head on this massive hydra. Some people got away, but I know people like me will keep fighting to bring these organizations down.



Overall, How Do You View Yourself?

I roll with the waves.

What Do You Think of When You Look in the Mirror?

Sexy Beast!

Would You Consider Yourself Confident?

Yes, I would.

How Often Are You Given a Compliment for Physical Reasons?

Often by my girlfriend.

How Often Are You Given a Compliment for Mental Reasons?

Not as often but it’s their fault, they underestimate me.

What Do You Think About Your Knowledge?

I could always be smarter and more canny.

What Do You Think About Your Talents?

It’s gotten me this far.

What Do You Think About Your Current Situation?

I wish Home was preparing for another album. That we could find all the victims of this ring and get them back to their lives or to the lives they deserve.

What Do You Think About Your Mistakes?

I trusted the wrong people, and I didn’t ask for help quick enough.

Has Any Ever Changed Your Mind About How You Think About Yourself?

Yes

How Often Do You Dwell On What’s Wrong with You?

Not as often as I should I guess.

Do You Believe Anything is Wrong with You?

There is something wrong with all of us don’t you think?

What Do You Think is Right About You?

I’m very lucky.

Why do you consider yourself lucky?

I have a great job working with friends and helping people. I’m in a stable relationship with an amazingly talented independent woman. Every time I go over to Raven’s place, she cooks for me.

Is Raven your girlfriend?

No, Raven Moore is one of my best friends and a chef and cookbook author.

What Do You Think of Your Flaws?

I’m working on them. That is all we can ever ask of ourselves, right?

What Is Your Idea of Perfect Happiness?

Being with my friends and family.

What is a Trait You Detest in Others?

The lack of want to fix yourself.

How Do You Define Love?

Wanting to be there for someone through the hard and good times and willing to want to work through the hard stuff.

Have you and your girlfriend been through some hard stuff?

Yes, we had a bit of a rocky beginning but things are going great at the moment. We’re enjoying the calm for now.

How Do You Define Hate?

The opposite.

What’s Your Personal Motto?

Life is too short.

What Do You Do When You’re Depressed?

Ride my bike and listen to music.

How Do You Handle Your Own Anger?

Internalize it, sadly.

What Do You Look for in a Friend?

Close to what I look for in love.

What or Who Is Your Greatest Love?

That’s telling.

How Do You View God?

Absent, I believe it’s up to us to be good not a parent standing over us.


How Do You View Good?

The desire to help others.

How Do You View Evil?

That one is hard and I don’t have a suitable answer for it yet.

What Does Family Mean to You?

Everything.

How Do You View Society?

Fuc... messed up

What’s Your Opinion on Money?

It comes and goes often. So don’t tie your self-worth to it.

What is Your Greatest Achievement?

This book, so far.

What is Your Largest Failure?

Not seeing evil in front of me.

What Is the Biggest Traumatic Thing That Took Place in Your Life?

Losing my ability to defend myself.

How Often Do You Look Back in Your Past?

Not as often as I should sometimes.

How Do You Deal with Rough Patches in Your Past?

Learn from them and try not to repeat them.

How Do You Savor Good Memories?

Think about them often.

Who Do You Talk with of The Past?

Raven, Mallory, Travis, Mike, Tony.

What Is Your Greatest Regret? Why?

That I helped Hutchinson.

Hutchinson, is the Former Deputy Mayor who you Wrote Campaign Speeches for, Correct?

Yes, I should have listened to my father and never gotten involved with politics.

Are You Bitter Towards Anyone?

Yes a few people, but I’m working on it.

What Do You Think of Your Past?

Learn from it as much as you can.

If You Could Travel Back in Time, What Would You Change?

Nothing. I wouldn’t be the person I am or where I am in my life now, if I did.

What Does Your Sexual History Look Like?

Well, this is a new question. Not as high as you would think it would be.

What Does Your Job History Look Like?

I’ve had some fun jobs I’m enjoying author at the moment.

Who Did You Want to Be as a Kid?

A fireman.

What Job Did You Want to Have as a Kid?

A sailor.

How Do You View Your Current Situation?

Pretty good so far.

What Current Friendships Do You Think You Should Let Go Of?

I’ve already done some pruning after the events last year.

How Do You Live in the Moment?

One day at a time, one moment at a time.

If You Could Change Your Current Situation, What Would You Change?

Nothing at the moment other than I would like to be home.

What Do You Really Want Out of Life?

Happiness, isn’t that what most of us want.

What Routines Do You Currently Have?

I write a lot more than I used to

Anyone You Currently Wish Was in Your Life? Why?

Nope, I’m good.

Currently What Knowledge Do You Wish You Have More of? Why?

I’m looking into how slavery rings start and how they stay under the radar so long.

How Do You Feel About Your Future?

I feel superb about my future, my friend is getting married.

Would You Want to Know Your Future If You Could?

Nope.

Do You Like Change?

Not too much change.

What Are Things You Wish Would Change?

So many things.

What Thoughts Do You Have Of Death?

It’s coming for us all.

What’s Your Opinion on Aging?

I want to age gracefully.

Do You Plan on Dying with Any Secrets? Why?

Yes, because I think it’s cool.

What Does Your Bucket List Look Like?

Almost complete.

Do You Think You’ll Finish Your Bucket List Before You Die? Why?

Nope.

What Are Your Hopes for the Future?

A family.


-------

I hope you enjoyed this interview of Steve one of the MC's for If the Seas Catch Fire Book 3 of the Fire Series. I'm currently in developmental edits for this novel with one of my favorite editors.


I'm currently:

Watching slowly The Sandman on Netflix

Working on

Formatting the paperback for my writing craft book

You can get the ebook now here



Waiting on

Preptober to start for NaNoWriMo

Q4 to start

Sign up









5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page