top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Google Slides to make Character Booklets for your Novel



Hello, my name is Shirley and I am a Google Docs user. I make mind maps for my books, organize and run my beta read project all from this platform.

Last year when I started working on “Into the Fire” I used Google’s slides to make a scene list for the first draft. That came in super handy when I for the chapter questions on the beta read project.

I use Slides to make character booklets for the main characters in the novel. These characters will be in other books in the series.

I first use a huge spreadsheet of things to know about characters. Use any character generation that works for you. I used this to compile and hold all the information on the cast in the novel.


  • Open Google Slides

  • Pick a theme

  • The first slide should be a cover page and have the characters name

  • The next slide is a Table of Contents for the booklet

  • This is important for me. I have so much information on each character and I want to be able to quickly turn to a page while I write


Then I have a quick character sketch page.

  • Photo inspiration

  • Physical description

  • Birthday

  • Religion

  • Where they live

  • What they drive

  • Family background

  • Job

  • Hobby

  • Prized possessions

  • I fill the next pages with more in depth information

  • I use MBTI (Myers Briggs Personality Types) to create characters

  • When you finish with a characters Slides hit print.

  • I print one slide per page, leaving room to add things as the character develops on the page while I write.

  • Bind in a fashion that works best for you.

  • And you have a character booklet to have on hand while you write your book

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page