top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Guest blog post



I started out the month of October, ok the end of September, with no idea what I would work on for Preptober. I was deep in the middle of writing a revision draft for a novel and had considered just moving it to NaNo and being a rebel this year. My hope is that it will be ready to publish by the new year.

But the truth is, I need a break from it. I am second guessing things I have already re-written, once, twice and some things, even a third time. I am changing too much and it is setting me back. I see this clearly thanks to the amazing writing coach I have. She has been so wonderful helping me see where I am missing points and where some points are almost spot on.


Ok, so if you are not going to work on that project then what are you going to do??? A brainstorm! I took a notebook out, and just started writing all the ideas, thoughts, feelings. Everything that had been swirling around in the back of my mind for something new. That helped. I saw a pattern. But I still couldn’t land on a single idea.

One night I was going through my kindle library and nothing sounded like anything I wanted to read. I didn’t want to re-read a favorite. I wanted something new, fresh, exciting! Something that pulled me in and left me wanting more.



Thus my Preptober/NaNo project idea was born.

But Brandy, you haven’t told us what you are writing! I know, you want all the dirty details. If you have followed me through the month of October you might already have a good idea of what I am writing. If not then read on my friends!

After tons of research, brainstorming and free writing. I have decided to write a romantic mystery about a writer whose life turns into a novel she had just published. A handsome bodyguard who is tempting, a twisting plot to keep you guessing and plenty of steam.

Kristen is a writer who has been publishing under a pen name to keep her disapproving family from finding out about her career. Suddenly thrust into the spotlight she finds that the bodyguard she has had since she was a teenager is more than willing to protect her in an intimate way. Does she allow him in and risk losing him or keep him at arm’s length while the devastation of her life falling apart almost destroys her?



Grant has watched Kristen grow from a shy teenager into a mature young woman, He supported her choice in disobeying her grandparents when she started writing and publishing. Secretly becoming her biggest fan and secret admirer. He knows if he gets caught by her grandparents it would cost him everything, but when Kristen finds herself in the grip of a crazy stalker he wants to protect her at all costs. Will he finally be able to show her that he cares more deeply or will he hold back and hope that he can keep his hands to himself?

You can find me on

FB: brandybullockauthor

IG brandybullockauthor

YT brandybullockauthor

3 views0 comments

댓글


bottom of page