top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

How to Add Self-Care to Your Life



What I have tried and learned so far.

When I made my year goals this year, self-care was high up on my list, under finishing the revision of my book. My day job is as a home health-care worker. I am lucky that the job allows me some freedom to work on my writing. It does take its own toll on me mentally and physically. The fact that I live with the person I work for means I am on call 24/7.

We have all heard the saying, if we don’t take care of ourselves we will not have enough for others. This is very true and I have found it to be the case in my life. This is why I decided to try and incorporate a self-care practice into my normal daily routine.

That is the clue fitting self-care into your normal daily routine. Do it at a slow pace and before you know it is a part of your life. I first started adding it to my list of normal to do’s this month.

14 days in, and here is what I have learned.

I started by taking the time to think of 10 things I would like to do. Here is the list I started with:

Make French toast Favorite romantic movie

Daydream Bake

Write notes to friends Dance party

Pedicure Go for a walk

At home date night Draw something

Color for fun


Start small and add one of these things to do a week. Then work your way to add something to every day. You can also try a challenge to get you started to add self-care everyday.

I also started a few challenges,

40-day Meditation challenge which I will be starting Ash Wednesday.

Plans from here,


I plan to add self-care items to each month of the year. I will add a few challenges when I need a boost of encouragement. I hope that you find inspiration to include self-care to your routine. I will share my journey with the 40-day meditation challenge on my Instagram. Follow me on social media to learn more. I would love to hear how you add self-care to your daily life.

Where am I now,


25% of the book Into the Fire is revised.

Currently reading:

14 days in to my Instagram challenge #springwritingchallenge if you would like to join in here is where you can find the list of prompts

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page