top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

How to Plot a Series



As I was working on the first draft of Into the Fire I began to realize that I wanted to make the novella part of a series. I enjoy reading romance series. I love seeing the connections. Watching stories develop and being able to go back and tease out the connections. I also love knowing what a couple is doing after their book is over.

In December of 2017 I sat down with a massive grid pad and started to plan out the books and subplots to connect them. It was wonderful to feel a story develop that I will not write for years. The process was completely enjoyable and organic.

Lucky for me I transferred all the notes into my author notebook. It being much easier to transport and carry.

How to start:

Of course I started with book one. I started with the main couple of the book. Then I listed the characters in the book that were going to carry on into other books. If I knew who was going to break off into couples I went ahead and made them couples on the list. I was very lucky that I had done done ground work in the first draft of the book. Which helped me decide book 2 and 3.

As I continued to fill in books I thought back to the first couples and where they would be and what I wanted to see for them. Some of the early relationships were in trouble and that made for new plot items for later books. This process is going to help my worlds be rich and vivid.

Have you planned out multiple books in a series? What was your experience? Do you have questions about plotting out a series?

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page