top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

I Don't Own a Microwave



Why you should ditch yours too.... My journey understanding what I need in my life.

When we moved last year I had to make some major decisions. Mostly on what we were bringing with us and what we were letting go. One of the many things we didn’t bring with us was a microwave. I didn’t worry about it to much at the time. I was sure that most rentals would come with one.

Funny thing is that the place we found to rent, in our haste did not have a microwave. We did not have the excess income to go get new one. So, I began to think about what we needed the microwave for and what we used it for.

We would buy food items you could pop in the microwave and eat for a quick meal. These foods are often full of ingredients we don’t need. Especially eating them as often as we would for convenience sake. I am sure you have some of these items in your freezer now.

Without a microwave we have to think before we buy. I am surprised how many of these old favorites are not meant to go in the oven. Some of the quick foods take 30 to 40 minutes to bake. Now when am I hungry, the thought about having to get a pan and turn on the oven or stand and cook it on the stove top. This has curbed a lot of the emotional or bored eating throughout the day.

We have seen a decrease in weight gain, bad cholesterol, and other health issues. We also eat less often in the day.


Now there are some downsides to not owning a microwave.

First warming up leftovers, take a little longer and more dishes.

Some recipes have changed to fit the times and have instructions to use the microwave.

Popcorn has been the biggest issue. We have enjoyed finding ways to make popcorn on the stove top like we did when we were younger.

You will see how often you do rely on these devices. We are enjoying cooking every day and learning new skills and recipes. We should all see what we can do without and how much a device has affected our lives.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page