top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Rising from the Ashes: S. A. Crow's Journey Through Burnout, Medical Leave, and Resilience

Updated: Nov 16, 2023



It’s so wonderful to write to you all today. I’m back in the seat and loving every moment. If you are wondering where I’ve been, check out this post, Shirley’s Upcoming Sergury and What it Means. As you read in that post, I was only expecting to be out for September. I prepared myself for this, social media pre-planed, guest blog posts from fellow authors, and things to keep me busy while laid up in bed. Well, you know the saying about best laid plans...


So What Happened

Well, it was going well until we found out that the bottom of my incision became necrotic, so I made my way to the E.R. Where they admitted me and scheduled another surgery. I was in the hospital for over a week. This surgery pushed my recovery time further back until recently.




What Did I Learn

Besides, new medical information and that I never want to have another heel spur surgery again. I learned...

  1. How close I was to burn out before I had surgery.

  2. That even though you have the means to work while healing, you won’t always have the energy to work when your body needs every bit for healing.

What is Burn Out

Burnout is when someone feels physically and emotionally exhausted from being stressed and overworked for a long time, especially in jobs that require a lot of responsibility or caring for others. It's when someone feels exhausted, less productive, and has a negative attitude towards work.

Effects on the Mind:

  1. Emotional Exhaustion: Burnout can lead to intense feelings of fatigue and emotional depletion. Individuals may find themselves emotionally drained, with a reduced ability to cope with stressors.

  2. Cynicism and detachment: are characteristic of burnout, often leading to a negative outlook on work, colleagues, or responsibilities. This detachment may result in a decline in one’s enthusiasm and commitment.

  3. Reduced Accomplishment and Efficacy: Burnout can diminish a person’s sense of accomplishment and efficacy in their tasks. This perceived decline in performance can contribute to a negative cycle, further exacerbating burnout.

Effects on the Body:

  1. Physical Fatigue: Prolonged stress and burnout can lead to physical exhaustion, manifesting as persistent fatigue, muscle aches, and overall weakness.

  2. Cognitive Impairments: Burnout can impact cognitive functions, leading to difficulties in concentration, memory problems, and impaired decision-making. These cognitive impairments can further contribute to work-related challenges.

  3. Sleep Disturbances: Burnout often disrupts sleep patterns, leading to difficulties falling asleep, staying asleep, or experiencing restorative sleep. Sleep disturbances can exacerbate both mental and physical symptoms.

  4. Weakened Immune System: Chronic stress associated with burnout can compromise the immune system, making individuals more susceptible to illnesses and infections.

It’s important to recognize the signs of burnout early on and take proactive steps to address it. To prevent and manage burnout, it's important to seek support, practice self-care, and establish a healthy work-life balance.

I will talk more about this in future posts. So, keep your eyes on the blog.

How I Bounced Back

Rest

Relaxation

Reflection

and a Game Plan


In the journey back from medical leave,

 I’ve not only regained my physical strength, but also found a renewed appreciation for the delicate balance between work and well-being. The unexpected detour through surgery brought with it an unexpected lesson about the proximity of burnout.

Upon reflection, it became evident that burnout was approaching before the surgery intervened. The forced pause taught me the importance of recognizing burnout signs and taking action.

It was a wake-up call, a stark reminder that even with the means to work during healing, the body requires dedicated time and energy for restoration.

Burnout is an actual threat to our well-being, not just a buzzword. Recognizing the signs early on and heeding the call for self-care is not just a luxury but a necessity.

As I bounced back, the keys to my recovery were simple yet profound—rest, relaxation, reflection, and a solid game plan. Taking the time to recharge, allowing moments of pure relaxation, and reflecting on the patterns that led to burnout were crucial steps. Equally important was devising a game plan for the future—a roadmap that balances passion with self-care, work with well-being.

 Join me in the upcoming discussions as we navigate the delicate dance between passion and self-preservation.



Archangel's Light by Nalini Singh






Face Off reality show on Netflix






10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page