top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Strings of Inspiration: Exploring My Journey into Guitar Playing


Even though I’m a full-time indie author, I can’t spend my whole life focused on the written word. I’m a big believer in learning something new that will challenge my mind, body, and/or push me past my comfort zone. While in college studying psychology at Texas Wesleyan University, Fort Worth, Texas. We, as students and members of Psi Chi, the national honor society in psychology, were granted the ability to sit in and listen to possible professor presentation and interview them a bit for our department. One potential professor specialized in neuroscience. That presentation and interview left an impact on me and my philosophy on learning as an adult.

Picking a new skill increases the white matter (myelin) in your brain, improving your performance on tasks. New skills stimulate neurons to form new pathways and electrical impulses travel faster. This can help delay dementia. (Brian Wong, How Learning a New Skill Helps Your Mind Grow Stronger, Inc.)

This belief has led to me picking up a new skill or hobby every year or so. I’ve done a few things but recently I picked up playing the guitar. During grades 6 and 7 in middle school, I played the clarinet in the school band. I choose to learn music to be a more well-rounded person, yes that is what I said when I picked music. Now mind you, the clarinet wasn’t my choice of instrument. It was one of the two choices my father presented to me. I wanted to learn the cello instead. I love low sounding instruments and voices.

New Passion:

As I said, I love low sounding instruments. I first wanted to learn to play the bass guitar. I priced a few and waited to see what I could get my hands on. While I was waiting, my roommate lent me her grandfather’s Fender acoustic guitar to practice on. It is a lovely guitar, and I learned so much working on it, but I was so fearful that I could do something wrong to this priceless family guitar I looked to get my own.

I was lucky to get a guitar as a holiday present. You can catch a glimpse of my purple and black baby in my new office set up images or on my YouTube Live videos.



The Journey Begins

I’m learning chords through a youtuber teacher Marty Music.

Without hesitation, I would recommend Marty Music’s videos.

 I learned two chords in the first video and still remember them and they built the base for the next two I’ve learned. I can’t wait to learn more and play a favorite song.

Together, we can celebrate the joy of exploration and personal growth through shared interests.



What are your passions or hobbies? Are you into art, music, nature, or something else? Share yours with us on this blog or on social media and tag me @author_sacrow on IG


I Feel You Linger in the Air Kingdom: Legendary War tv show Love is Better the Second Time Around

Unknown




0 views0 comments
bottom of page