top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

"Inside the Mind of Author Devon Gambrell: A Revealing Interview"


Interview of an Author series

Devon writes fantasy and steampunk with a splash of romance and snarky female leads and is the founder of All Call Indie, a database of freelancers for indie authors. She lives in Northeast Florida with her husband and teen boys, where they manage various animals.

Let's get to the Interview


  1. Do you view writing as a kind of spiritual practice?

I don’t. I do see it as a neccessity. If I don’t write, I start to get antsy keeping all the stories in my head.

 

2. Does writing energize or exhaust you?

Neither. If anything it’s a releif to finally being able to sit down and get the words out.

 

3. Do you think someone could be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?

I do believe that anyone can be a writer. All anyone really needs is imagination to tell a story. Everything else is secondary.

 

4. What advice would you give to other writers or authors who also struggle with disabilities?

Take your time to experiment what works or doesn’t work for you. This would be the most important step, because once you find that sweet spot everything is a breeze. On a side note, life can change, so what you find right now, may need to be tweaked later.



 

5. What was an early experience where you learned that language had power?

I think I was too young to remember, books had always made an impact on those around me and I paid attention to that.

 

6. What is your favorite under-appreciated novel?

 

7. Have you ever gotten reader’s block?

I wouldn’t call it reader’s block so much as a hangover from a really good book. A book so good you can’t pick up another one.

 

8. What kind of research do you do and how long do you spend researching before beginning a book?

Most of my research is internet based. Occasionally, a historical or lit book from the library will be added. For clothing though, since most of my writing is historical based, I watch YouTube videos. Historical reenactments are really helpful.

 

9. What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?

Mannerisms.

 

10. What was your hardest scene to write?

Battle scenes are so hard to write! I feel that you have to go into role playing to get it down.

 

11. Do you read your book reviews? How do you deal with bad or good ones?

I tend to stear clear of reviews and rely on my closets friends and family to fill me in. Praise makes me uncomfortable and negativity just makes me angry. If it’s constructive critisim, I’ll take it. Afterall, it could help me improve my writing.



 

12. If you were to write a spin-off about a side character, which would you pick?

It’s already in the works! Amabel’s mother and aunt have a standalone coming!

 

13. What’s your favorite writing snack or drink?

Ramen and tea, or sprakling water.

 

14. If your book were made into a movie, which actors would play your characters?

That’s a hard one! I imagined Tristian Hayes as Amabel (MacGuyver), and Joey Batey as Derek.

 

15. Have you ever killed off a character your readers loved?

Not yet! But that’s right around the corner, gasp!

 

16. What is your kryptonite as a writer?

True crime and dinosaur documentaries.

 

17. If a famous author could mentor you. Who would it be?

I don’t think I can choose just one. I take a bit of every author when I pick out a detail I want to add to my stories.

 

18. What do the words “literary success” mean to you? How do you picture it?

Selling about 50 a month.

 

19. Has writing and publishing a book changed the way you see yourself?

I don’t feel that it has. I’ve always known that once I found something that I truly loved I would embrace it.

 

20. As a writer, what would you choose as your spirit animal?

A dragon, lol!


21. Whom do you trust for objective and constructive criticism of your work?

My critique partners and beta readers have been the absolute best!



2 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page