top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Finding Light in the Darkness: A Message for Authors During Suicide Prevention Month


September is Suicide Prevention Month, a time to reflect on the importance of mental health, offer support, and remind each other that we are never truly alone. As writers, many of us face battles that often go unseen by the outside world or our readers. We wrestle with imposter syndrome, money troubles, and the constant sense of isolation that can seep into our creative process. These struggles can make it hard to see the beauty around ourselves and in our words.


I often find solace in music. The song that comes to mind when I thought about Suicide Prevention Month was immediately "Youtiful" by Stray Kids. Stray Kids a 4th generation K-Pop band out of South Korea is my favorite dopamine hit. The lyrics remind us that even in our lowest moments, we are still worthy of love, kindness, and connection. The song carries a powerful message: no matter how broken or lost we may feel, there is beauty in our existence. Sometimes, just hearing "you're beautiful the way you are" can make all the difference.


Youtiful- Stray Kids

[Verse 1: Bang Chan, Hyunjin]


Lookin' at yourself


A lot goes in your mind


"I don't know if I'm ready to show myself"


You worry day and night


Look at the stars fall


They leave the sky, goodbye


Must be an oracle, like a waterfall


They shower you with love tonight



[Pre-Chorus: Lee Know, Felix, Changbin, Han]


'Cause you are


You're perfect in my eyes


You are


Don't ever doubt yourself


(You are) I know that feeling too, I've been inside the dark


I've never been so empty, hopeless


(You are) But no, it isn't true


'Cause know that all the stars are by your side



[Chorus: Seungmin, Lee Know, I.N]


You know whenever there's a chance


I'll tell you that you're amazing as you are


'Cause when you give me a glance


I'm sure that I see the universe in your eyes


Don't you ever tell yourself that you're not enough


I am certain that you're truly fine


You are a miracle, miracle


You are youtiful

See Stray Kids Live

Get tickets as low as $58

You might also like

I Can See You (Taylor’s Version) [From The Vault]

Taylor Swift

You’re Losing Me (From The Vault)

Taylor Swift

K-POP

Travis Scott

[Verse 2: Hyunjin, Felix, I.N]


Let me tell a little story


About the star that couldn't shine or blink


Out of a million, billion


Felt like an alien, alien


Then that little star was surely


Going to become the biggest thing


Making a fantasy family


Beautiful galaxy, galaxy



[Pre-Chorus: Seungmin, Changbin, Lee Know]


'Cause you are


More than beautiful, one of a kind


You are


Just know I'm always by your side



[Chorus: Bang Chan, I.N, Changbin]


You know whenever there's a chance


I'll tell you that you're amazing as you are


'Cause when you give me a glance


I'm sure that I see the universe in your eyes


Don't you ever tell yourself that you're not enough


I am certain that you're truly fine


You are a miracle, miracle


You are youtiful

[Bridge: Felix, Seungmin]


Another day ahead, don't wanna leave the bed


You're looking at the mirror, see the tears covered in red


I know that you've been cold this whole time


But now I'm here to make it end



[Chorus: Han, Changbin, Hyunjin, (Seungmin, I.N, Lee Know)]


You know whenever there's a chance


I'll tell you that you're amazing as you are (Amazing as you are)


'Cause when you give me a glance


I'm sure that I see the universe in your eyes (Universe in your eyes)


Don't you ever tell yourself that you're not enough


I am certain that you're truly fine (Certain that you're truly fine)


You are a miracle, miracle


You are youtiful


For authors, the struggle is often internal. Imposter syndrome sneaks up after a rejection, lack of sales, a negative review, or even on a day when the words just won't flow. Financial stress adds another layer of pressure. We pour our hearts into our craft, like a painter with words, but it doesn't always come with the financial rewards we need to keep going. And then there's the isolation. Writing is often a solitary activity, and it's easy to feel like we're floating alone in a sea of words.


Joining supportive writing groups can help with imposter syndrome and the feelings of isolation.




But amidst the chaos, there are moments of light--small, weird things that bring us joy. maybe it's the smell of brewing coffee as you settle in for a writing session, the way your pet curls up next to you as you type, the thrill of finding the perfect word or phrase for that tricky part. These little things may seem insignificant to others, but they might be the only things keeping the darkness at bay.

My little weird things that keep the darkness at bay:

  • My dogs

  • Stray Kids

  • BL stories and actors

  • Music

  • my squishy plushies

  • checking things off my to do list

  • a warm mug of tea

  • dancing around the house

  • My writing group

Share with us what little weird things help you get up out of bed and face the day.

Remember, it's okay to ask for help. You are not alone in this journey. Reach out to fellow authors, friends, and family when the weight of it all feels too much. Don't forget to celebrate your successes, no matter how small they may seem. Try a done list instead of a to do list. If you're struggling, reach out. If you are doing well reach out to your friends and check on them. If you're feeling alone, listen to a song that lifts you up, take a walk, or find a small joy to hold onto. The world needs your words, your voice, and your unique spark.

You don’t have to go through this alone. If you or someone you know is struggling with thoughts of suicide or severe depression, please reach out to one of the following resources:

  • National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (USA): Call 988 or 1-800-273-8255 (Available 24/7) Visit: suicidepreventionlifeline.org

  • Crisis Text Line (USA): Text HOME to 741741 for free, confidential support via text.

  • The Trevor Project (For LGBTQ+ youth, USA): Call 1-866-488-7386 or text START to 678-678.Visit: thetrevorproject.org

  • Samaritans (UK and Ireland): Call 116 123 (Free and available 24/7) Visit: samaritans.org

  • Lifeline (Australia): Call 13 11 14Visit: lifeline.org.au

  • International Suicide Prevention Resource Directory: Find helplines worldwide at iasp.info

If you need help, please don’t hesitate to reach out. There is always someone who will listen.

We are stars together.









Live Friday and Saturday 9am CST doing writing sprints on YouTube



Heroin Are You Addicted? English Translation






4minutes

Battle of the Writers

Cinderella at 2am

Frist Note of Love

Happy of the End

I Saw You in My Dream

Jack & Joker: U Steal My Heart!

Kidnap

Live in Love

Love Next Door

Monster Next Door

No Gain, No Love

The On1y One

This Love Doesn't Have Long Beans

You Are My Secret

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page