top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Real-Life Inspiration: How True Crime Influences Romantic Suspense


In the world of romantic suspense, the perfect blend of love and danger creates a thrill that keeps readers on the edge of their seats. I found my love for true crime when I was in high school, this was before the popular crime procedural shows or true crime podcasts, we are talking in the mid-90s. I think some of the first romance suspense or mystery novels I read were by the author Amanda Quick. So, where do these gripping, heart-pounding plot lines come from? Often, the answer is real-life crime stories. For example; "An episode of Criminal Minds (Season 3 Ep. 18) and the true crime case of the kidnapping and torture case of Colleen Stan partially inspired the Fire Inside.


The Allure of True Crime

True crime has always fascinated people. When I was getting my Bachelor's in Psychology 90% of the students were anticipating taking Abnormal Psych but also were true-crime junkies. The intricacies of real-life mysteries, the psychological profiles of criminals, and the raw emotions of those affected make for compelling storytelling. These make the perfect ingredients to add depth and realism to your plots and characters.

My roommates say I have a creepy habit. I'll be watching true-crime documentaries or crime-procedural shows, and a thought will strike me. Out comes the notebook or a scramble for paper and pen so I can start making notes on the novel idea. I often find myself drawn to the ripple effects of the crime. How did the crime change the lives of family members or friends of the direct victims, or the victims that got away and survived? I love the unpredictability of human behavior and one of my favorite courses in college was Social Psych, where we learned people don't act logically. Mixing these ingredients together with deep character studies has produced 3 of the 9 book Fire series.



Creating Suspense from Real Events

Incorporating true crime into a romantic suspense plot is a delicate dance. You take the essence of a real event and weave in a fictional narrative. The key is to focus on the emotional stakes, make sure that the romance plot points is central, while the suspense keeps readers guessing.

Here is my road map:

I start with the romance plot because of its importance. I use the Seven Story Beats for a Romance novel

Once I have my romance plot points, I then do a deep dive into my antagonist who either commits the crime or encourages others to do their dirty work (example the main antagonist in "If the Seas Catch Fire"). Then I answer these questions about the suspense plot.

  • The crime

  • The motive

  • The crime scene

  • The detective

  • The detective's partners and what they know and how they help

  • Desire for justice (story goal)

  • Suspects (characters, what they are hiding, and body language notes)

  • Witnesses and/or backstory

  • Forensics (descriptions)

  • (plotting the events against the romance plot points)

  • The means and opportunity (conflict)

  • Clues (plot points)

  • Red Herrings C Plot

  • A confession (ending)

  • Justice (denouement)

  • A lesson (theme of the story)

Once I've answered as many of these as I can, I begin weaving and mixing both plots together to create the outline


True crime offers a treasure trove of inspiration for romantic suspense. Writers use real-life events to create authentic and tense stories that explore love in challenging situations. I hope you enjoy this glimpse into how I use true crime to shape my stories, and I look forward to sharing more with you in the weeks to come!


Promotional Updates

As we dive into September, I’m excited to share some special updates with you:

  • Fall Into a Book Event: Don’t forget to join me in the 'Fall Into a Book' event this September. With over 350 authors participating, it's the perfect opportunity to discover new reads and engage with the writing community.



  • New Releases: The 2nd Edition of The Fire Inside with its stunning new cover is now available, along with my novella Code of Fire, which ties into the Fire Series. Code of Fire's first chapter is already up for followers on Ream!



  • Upcoming Box Set: Keep an eye out for the release of Burning Desires, the complete box set of the Fire Series, which will be available soon. It’s the perfect collection for those who love a mix of romance and suspense.

  • September Newsletter: In the upcoming newsletter, I’ll be discussing my latest books, including their availability, sharing my goals for the last quarter of the year, and offering some special giveaways. Plus, I’ll be talking about the Moon Festival holiday and how it ties into my writing.



4 Minutes

Battle of the Writers

Cinderella at 2 AM

First Note of Love

I Hear the Sunspot

I Saw You in My Dream

Love Next Door

Monster Next Door

Nevertheless,

Our Interpreter

Takara's Treasure

The On1y One


Heroin Are You Addicted? English translation







1 view0 comments

コメント


bottom of page