top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

April recap



April was a month of learning and taking care of the hard stuff I had put off far to long. I started the month apartment and kitten sitting for some dear friends. While there I was able to take care of some business that I had put off.

I finished a few more chapters in the revision and I am now up to 80% of the book revised and ready for beta readers. I am very happy with the method I used to revise the book. If you would like to learn more about how I am doing the revision please check out these posts about the process.

Sadly I did something foolish that my right knee did not find funny. I was loading groceries into our freezer and shut the door with my right knee at a odd angle. The result was four or five pops from my knee at the same instant. It was sore and tense for weeks, lucky for me now it is a little weak. I am still not sure what happened, but I got a brace to wear while I work for my side hustle with Instacart.

The days are ticking down to the start of the beta read project. This month I started my first ever beta reader group. Made a contract and set up question forms for each chapter. I have 8 readers signed up so far and they are ready to go come June 1st. I am taking the time to look at each chapter. To ensure that I handle as much editing on my end that I can before they start on them. The last thing I want them focusing on is grammar when what I want them to look at is story elements. If you would like to know more about how I set up my beta reader group or made my contract. Please let me know in the comments below, and check out my post on the beta reader project.

At the end of April we went on a road trip to visit a dear loved one who lives four hours south of us. It was a rocky start to get on the road but once we left it was all smooth sailing. It was so good to do the trip and see him on their birthday. We will be going again in June, oh yeah south Texas in the summer.

I hope you all had a wonderful April. I have been enjoying the pumpkin blossoms in our tiny pumpkin patch. Here is wishing you all the best May blessings.

3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page