top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Camp NaNoWriMo



3 days and counting till the start of July’s Camp NaNoWriMo. What are you going to write.

This is my first ever NaNoWriMo event and I am super excited. You might be asking what the heck is this thing? Are you going to a summer camp? Stop talking about this already. Well NaNoWriMo is a virtual writing challenge that happens in November each year.

According to the NaNoWriMo site they have this to say. “NaNoWriMo Facts

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) believes stories matter. The event began in 1999, and in 2005, National Novel Writing Month became a 501(c)(3) nonprofit. NaNoWriMo’s programs now include National Novel Writing Month in November, Camp NaNoWriMo, the Young Writers Program, Come Write In, and the “Now What?” Months.

What are my plans for July 2018’s Camp NaNoWriMo? I am going to attempt to write 50,000 words in 21 days on the first draft of book 2 in the Fire series. Wait what do you mean 21 days? Well I am choosing to take weekends off to spend with family and on self-care.

What have I done to prepare for Camp? I wrote over 4,000 words for the books outline.


Finished the synopsis for the book, made character booklets for the main characters and my antagonists. I also made a binder for my book. It has the cast, notes on the series, and my writing notes on writing a romance.

Will we not get any blog posts while you are writing? No, I am working with other authors to get you some great content next month. They are going to write articles and book releases, so keep an eye out for some wonderful posts.

Have you ever taken part in NaNoWriMo before? Do you have any tips or tricks that you can share with me?



3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page