top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Over the Moon



Wow, who would have thought that I would do two beta reads in one year. Yet, here we are with the second beta read up and running. How did we get here and the awesome things that have happened because of it all.

The first beta read went off without a hitch. Okay so I read a few answers before I should have and had a bit of a emotional roller coaster. But I took myself in hand and kept my vow to not look at the readers answers until the end. Readers had glowing things to say about how the project was set up and ran.

I spent time going through and reading what they had to say for every chapter and the final views on the book. Complied a list of changes I would be happy to make and how they would change the story.

Next I got to work on the book, making changes, setting up a line editor and a final editor. I am glad to report that the line editor is working on the book and I am raising the needed $400 for my editor. I hope that the editor can start working in the spring.

When I handed the first book off to my line editor I got started on the research tags for book 2. Then made the plan on the revision of book 2 and the questions for the beta readers. I am happy to report that book 2 The Fire Inside is 136 pages and 51,047 words. I am so proud of my growth from the first book to this one.

I was able to get all but a few of my beta readers back and some new readers on board. I even got closer to my goal of 20 readers, we have 17. As of the first live chat check in they are very excited.

Speaking of live chats. I thought I would try a new venue to do my live chats this go around for a few reasons. One being the lack of puppy interference and two I want to try locations out for my podcasts. My local library offers study rooms that you can reserve for free as long as you have a library card. I loved the idea and thought I would give them a try. Little did I know that this would lead to some awesome opportunities.

While waiting for the room I reserved to be ready I started a conversation with a lovely librarian. When she learned I was a writer she mentioned that they were looking for writers to head some workshops. Before I knew it I was talking to someone over programing. It looks like I will be setting up something awesome this coming summer.


3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page