top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

What does the Creative Process Look Like?


The creative process is as beautiful and complex as we are. It’s helpful to learn how others work in the same art field as you, so you can learn from others, but use them in ways that work best for you. I love sharing my process with others and learning how others find inspiration.


The beautiful differences in the creative process.

I’m lucky that I live with two other writers and we all three handle writing differently from each other. That is the best thing about having writing buddies: they help you see the world differently.

For example: the first writer in the house starts with a vague idea of the direction of their novel. Finds the plot and characters as they sketch out scenes.

The second writer knows who the killer is and how they did it, but has to find everything else along the way.


Your process doesn’t have to look like anyone else’s reaching the same place.

There are many ways to write and find your way to finishing a draft. Don’t let anyone tell you that your path there is wrong. It’s okay to try out new outlining methods because you never know when you're going to stumble onto something that can help you in the long run. But if something works, don't fix it, use it.


My process with my current work in progress as an example.


Work in Progress


Summary

Bridget, known throughout town as Boss, and Bee to her friends. Grew up fighting for those who no one else cared about. She knows what it is like to survive on your own wits. In the run-down trailer park in Southern Louisiana, Bee takes the unwanted and neglected children and creates a family and builds an empire. Owning half the town and the President of her own motorcycle club, she has power, respect, and a name for herself. There is no place in her life for love, no place for weakness, especially when a rival MC is trying to encroach on her town. But can love strengthen her?



Quinn has been Bee’s right hand since the beginning except for that short four years he went away to the military. He has also been in love with her for almost as long. Being her VP in the MC has been his only avenue to care for his badass boss and greatest desire. He watches her care for everyone in town, but neglects herself at every turn. When a friend Jack from his military days comes to town seeking work, Quinn sees a chance to love and take care of Bee in more ways than one.



Jack met Quinn when they were 18 and hell on wheels. One drunken night, Jack admits his deepest desires to share a woman with another man and Quinn shares his deepest love for his childhood sweetheart. Jack wants to meet Quinn’s badass woman and when he is drifting between jobs, comes and sees for himself if she just might be the one for him too. Taking a job as a male stripper at Boss’s club and a mechanic at her shop. Jack is just in the right spot to help Quinn capture Bee’s heart.



Can Bee trust these men can love her and not take her power? Will they help make Bee strong enough to handle the danger facing her and her town? Can these men show her she can have respect, power and love too?


Character Study and why I start with Characters



I love to start with characters. To me, the Characters are the most important story item. I use Myers Briggs Personalities to make my characters.

More about Myers Briggs 16 personalities

Myers-Briggs, also known as (MBT, is a self-report questionnaire that assigns you one of the four categories that make up one of the 16 MBT personalities.

Introversion or extraversion, sensing or intuition, thinking or feeling, judging or perceiving.

ISTJ - Inspector

ISFJ - Protector

INFJ - Counselor

INTJ - Mastermind

ISTP - Crafter

ISFP - Composer

INFP - Healer

INTP - Architect

ESTP - Promoter

ESFP - Performer

ENFP - Champion

ENTP- Inventor

ESTJ - Supervisor

ESFJ - Provider

ENFJ - Teacher

ENTJ - Fieldmarshal


K. M. Weiland at Helping Writers become Authors has an article on 5 ways to use MBT for characters


The idea and putting it in order.

Once I have my characters ready, I usually have thought about the plot for months to years. I often play the plot with the characters in my head like a movie, trying things out in the safety of my mind before I write things down.

My next step is making an outline or synopsis.

I use the snowflake method to make a synopsis that I can use to build on for the story. A synopsis is basically the story in a nutshell, giving nothing away. You might ask yourself what the snowflake method is.

The snowflake method is one of the many outlining methods in use by writers. It was created by the software engineer and bestselling author Randy Ingermanson https://www.advancedfictionwriting.com/

I stop on step 4 and that is my synopsis for the story. You can continue through all 10 steps and have a draft.


Setting up my space.

I like to get a new candle to light while I write. I clean my office space. Make a list of known characters and tape the list to the wall next to me.


The plan of attack.

Making a plan of attack is important to me. If I’m drafting, I usually draft at least 50,000 words minimum. I calculate how many words I’ll need to draft every writing day for me to finish my goal by the deadline I set for myself.

I inform my house that I’m going to be drafting a novel so I can prepare them for my state of mind and my needs.

I make a list of non-food related rewards for milestones.

I make sure I have plenty of English Breakfast tea and healthy snacks on hand.

If you would like to see more of my plan of attack you can check out this blog post



What is your creative practice for drafting, revision, editing, or more? Do you have any writing rituals? Did you pick up any new ideas to try out in your creative process from this blog post? I would love to hear about your process and share it in the comments below.




Are you a lover of Fantasy stories with strong female leads, chaotic magic, handsome princes, and loads of amazing side characters?


Then The Head, the Heart, and the Heir is for you!


Now available on Kindle Unlimited, and ebook on Amazon, the paper versions will be out on August 2nd.


See the blurb below for more info, and go to AliceHanov.com to see troupes and content warning if needed!


BLURB:

From Book 1: One Princess Secreted Away. Two Kingdoms in Peril. Three Will Rise.

Princess Elizabeth wants nothing more than to be reunited with her father, her kingdom, and her people. Instead, she’s spent the last twelve years in the forest, hiding from her grandfather, who killed her mother while she looked on.

Then the only heir to the Kingdom of Warren is discovered by her childhood playmate and crush, now the Crown Prince of the allied Kingdom of Datten, and everything changes. Her grandfather has died, which means it’s safe for her to return to her kingdom in advance of her seventeenth birthday…when sorcerers like her manifest their powers.

But the girl who now calls herself Alex is nothing like the lost princess the kingdom remembers. She’s headstrong, fearless—and already wields powers beyond everyone’s wildest imaginations. She can predict the future, control the weather, make plants magically grow, and manipulate fire, abilities which cause unusual things to happen when her emotions are heightened.

As she struggles to gain control of her powers, Alex causes chaos in the castle where she’s never quite the princess they want her to be. When she uncovers the secret behind her lineage and the murder of her mother, Alex’s powers threaten to destroy everyone around her, including her father, who hid the truth from her for so long.

Alex doesn’t want to be feared or controlled. She’s not the type to stand by and let someone else decide her fate—but is she strong enough to turn her back on the only family and friends she has left?



7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page