top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

What happens on the not so great days.



It is all a process, but we are not machines putting words on paper. There are great days where the words flow and you are in the zone, and then there are not so great days. The hardest part of writing is getting your butt in the chair. Pulling up the blank document and watching that courser blink at you.

Here is what I do on those not so great days. I block out the chapter. I have a note pad where I have a list of all the important scenes in the act of the book I am working on. Then I decided which chapter those scenes will be in based on how I have been writing chapters for the book. Next I break down the scene into blocks of moments, dialog if any that stand out. Last I walk away, I work on house work, behind the scenes things, my branding, or chill on the couch and not be hard on myself. I know that there is always later or even tomorrow. I also make sure not to be to hard on myself. This is a creative process and I am not a machine.

Book update: 9 chapters finished and 13,811 words of first draft. 6,000+ words left to newest word count goal of 20,000.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page