top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. A. Crow

Writing tips and tricks



Every writer uses a few ways to keep track of their writing. Along with important points, characters, and settings. Today I wanted to share a few things I am using to help me with writing my book.

I use two sites to keep track of important information. I first planned out my book with the help of Evernote. When I had gotten a clear picture of the outline I moved condensed everything and store it on Google Docs. I am using Google slides to make a current in book outline verses the original outline. I also use Google sheets to keep track of chapters finished and word count for chapter and total. I also keep each chapter as it's own document. By having a separate documents for each chapter I am able to edit a chapter easier. I am also able to go back to what I have written before for reference along with the current Google slide outline.

Today I started using a site called Fighter's Block to write chapter 8. It simulates a rpg game of a fighter fighting a monster the turn based fight based off your word count. It has been a great way to get it all out on the page and not worry to much about things I can improve later.

I have a print out of the layout of the house in the book taped to my wall near my computer along with setting note cards. I also use note cards with each character featured in the book. These notes cover their personality types, goals, struggles, and flirting styles.

Book update: 8 chapters done and 11,991 words.

New word count goal is 20,000 + words = 8,009 words to go to new goal.

5 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page